President & Executive

The President is the face of the Northwest Territories Branch of the Canadian Bar Association. As its spokesperson and members’ advocate, the President is responsible for key relationships within the organization: other branches, the National office, Council, the Board of Directors, the Executive Officers, legal groups in the Northwest Territories and nationally, the public and the media.

2018-2019 CBA-NT President and Executive Officers

Kelly McLaughlin: President

Kelly McLaughlinKelly McLaughlin has lived in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories since January 2008. She is originally from Miramichi, New Brunswick and is a graduate of the Faculty of Law at the University of New Brunswick. Kelly recently received a Graduate Diploma in Public Administration (Management) from Dalhousie University. 

Kelly has spent her career in the north with Legislation Division, Department of Justice, Government of the Northwest Territories, except for a transfer assignment opportunity to the Department of Finance as Executive Lead in the Office of the Deputy Secretary of Human Resources.

Kelly has been an active member of the CBA-NT since 2011. In addition to being the current branch President, Kelly is the current Chair of the CBA-NT Women Lawyers Forum Section. Kelly is also currently a member of the National Policy Committee and the National Women Lawyers Forum Section Executive Secretary. Kelly’s priorities include working to bring valuable professional development and networking experiences to our members and collaborating with Sections to further this goal.

Brittany Scott: Vice-President

Brittany ScottBrittany lives in Yellowknife and is embracing the North. Brittany attended law school at Queen’s University and practises corporate and commercial law in the Yellowknife office of a Western Canadian regional firm. Brittany advises local and national clients on corporate matters including purchase and sale transactions, financings, commercial real estate, joint ventures and environmental matters. She has experience drafting a wide range of commercial agreements, advising on corporate reorganizations and conducting large-scale diligence reviews for asset sales in the North. In addition to advising both public and private companies, Brittany advises municipal governments on corporate and environmental matters.

Brittany was a financial analyst before practicing law. She is quite active in volunteering for local organizations such as the Stanton Territorial Hospital Foundation and the Yellowknife Farmers’ Market. Prior to moving to the North, Brittany practiced in the Calgary office of a leading Canadian law firm.

Amanda Thibodeau: Secretary-Treasurer

Amanda ThibodeauAmanda Thibodeau lives in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. Amanda graduated from the University of New Brunswick Faculty of Law in 2008. After graduation, Amanda practiced with a small Fredericton firm until 2015, gaining experience in all areas of general practice.   

In 2015, Amanda accepted a position as a crown prosecutor and moved to Yellowknife. During her time as a prosecutor, Amanda visited many communities throughout the Northwest Territories while traveling for circuit court.

In 2017, Amanda returned to private practice with the Yellowknife law firm of Dragon Toner, where she enjoys a varied practice, which includes child protection, civil litigation, estates and administrative law.

Amanda has been an active member of the CBA since 2008. In addition to being the current branch Secretary-Treasurer, Amanda is the current Chair of the Litigation Section (NT).

Christopher Buchanan: Past President

Christopher BuchananChris Buchanan was raised in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. He graduated from the Schulich School of Law at Dalhousie University in 2011. After law school, Chris moved to Vancouver and articled with a major law firm before practicing at a boutique litigation firm. In 2013, Chris moved back to Yellowknife to practice civil litigation with the Government of the Northwest Territories' Department of Justice.

Chris has been an active member of the CBA since 2008. Since joining, he has held various roles with the Nova Scotia, British Columbia, and Northwest Territories branches, including several terms as section/forum Chair. In addition to being the branch Past President, Chris is the current Chair of the SOGIC Forum (NT).